Breathe Deep and Live Free

Breathe Deep and Live Free
Breathe Deep and Live Free

Saturday, December 31, 2011

Yesterday??? YIKES!

Well Mary and I went on an hour long walk on the beach yesterday, accompanied by some push ups.  Then I went to work at the bar... Clocked in at 10:48a.m., clocked out at 10:52 p.m. wowza! Long day.  I chugged Eric's beer as soon as I got off, and then another one.  Yup, I was intoxicated pretty much immediatley.

I need to post about Thursday, and Mary and my adventure to the top of Kuli'o'o :)  I'll figure out the spelling to it later.  We're going to hike Olomana with her friends now, so I will post tons later.  AND I don't have to work tomorrow or anything!  So tonight I will finally find out what down town is like!!!! Sweet!  Lots of Love pre New Year.  I'll do a whole post about that when I get back from the hike.  <3


Thursday, December 29, 2011

Ka'ena Point







Albatross!!!!   Makes me think of Rescuers Down Under!








No Words Necessary.  Shut yo mouth
Don't go to sleep filled with hate. It's not worth it, and it will get you no where

Tuesday, December 27, 2011

Me a cleaner? NEVER!

“I soon realized that no journey carries one far unless, as it extends into the world around us, it goes an equal distance into the world within.” – Lillian Smith
Cleaning day...  hahahahaha I wish I enjoyed cleaning.  I'm going to have these ladies on speed dial when I grow up - click me

But at least there were clean dishes :)

Titus and Gizmo were of no help to me today.  Gizmo refuses to sleep anywhere but on Blankie.  He must know how much I love my Blankie!  Ridiculous!
 It begins in 5 days!!!

Monday, December 26, 2011

Mele Kalikimaka Part Dos

 So yesterday after Christmas was over with the Sullivan's (at 8:30 a.m.)  Mary, Nate, and I did some gifting, which was awesome.  I had been super pumped about them getting their presents for days!  Eric came and got me at 10:30 and we set out for Bellows beach.  We went to the Air force base because its less crowded and he's a Marine, so we get to do things like that :) 
 Bellows is a beautiful park with tons of safe camping, mini golf, waves, and beauty.  The surf breaks really close to the shore line, so standing up is pretty silly, unless you would like to break your neck, but riding in on your belly is always fun!  We took the board out and just floated on it.  It was fun trying to keep our balance and not flip the board over.  We both kept trying to sit on it, but since its a short board it could barely hold our weight together.  Beautiful morning in Hawaii

I know, its exhausting to hang out with Anna Banana, or so I've been told. 









So at about 2:00 we finally got some food at the concession stand place, delicious burgers.  Then we went back to base to get his camping stuff out of storage.  Holy shit.  He opened his storage locker and it was packed, front to back, with more stuff than I have ever owned in my life!  I was super over whelmed and was speechless for a while.  How could you have that much stuff and only be 23! yikes!  I wont get into any back history, but lets just say, I wont have that much stuff til I'm 60 and retired....   We went to another beach on base and just walked the shoreline while the sun was beginning to set.  The tide was coming in, so I got pounded by a few huge waves.  I was wearing my normal clothes, but as you all know I didn't care and just continued to get wet.  We played the game "see who's feet go deeper in the sand as the waves rush over them" I won of course because I cheated and dug my toes in.  I'm also a known cheater.  The sun went down so we went back to watch Super Troopers and Super Bad.  After pizza and popcorn I was exhausted.  What a great Christmas this year :)

Sunday, December 25, 2011

Mele Kalikimaka

Sing to meeeeeeeeee I no joke sang this all day yesterday on repeat, even at the beach

Well its here, and I am tucked in bed at 5 a.m. waiting for my family to skype with me from the mainland.  Mary made coffee, but now its time to skype.  I was going to try and post all day to update about our Christmas adventures, but that didn't happen.

This is what our skype convo looked like.  It started with Andrew up close and Alec in the chair, but soon Andrew went and got the sofa chair so he could relax and Alec found his blanket from a very ex girlfriend that he still wraps up in.
Mom was modeling the tree for us.

Mom showed off her dance moves all morning.










In fact, Mom didn't sit down all morning and was so giddy and excited for us to open our gifts and regifts that I think she lost at least five pounds.  There were dance moves, and twirling thumbs, and standing on one foot in excitement.
My gift to Andrew.  Notice mom trying to sit on her hand so she wont jump up and open the gift for him
He freakin loved my gift!  Slow cooker with timer.  Too bad Arin and I totally failed and got him the exact same gift.....









 Mom's hug for Mary
Its protocal to give hugs, even if it is via skype!
Andrew and Alec's sweet lazy hug








So that was my Christmas morning.  Walked out of there with a bad ass camera case that dually functions as a fanny pack, a flare bottle so I can start throwing my drinks around, and a book on etiquette so I can learn how to be a real woman!  boom

Saturday, December 24, 2011

Finished!

Yay!  You should see the whole Calender, its amazing. Mary and I got ours in the mail today, I hope the rest of my family did too!!!!

Friday, December 23, 2011

Hiking with boys

 So this is Eric.  We hiked to the top of Olomano on Wednesday.  He came and got me at 7 a.m. and we hiked til noon.  The hike was so cool because there were so many different climates almost!  Super muddy, and then tons of trees, and then a small pine forest where you could hear the wind blow through the trees which was awesome.  After that part the mud turns red, and then you have to climb up rocks, literally up the side of the mountain.  There were ropes there to help you, but I am stubborn, so of course I went around the ropes and climbed up them like I was in the climbing gym.  The views from the top were incredible.  360 degree view of the oceans and mountain side.  It was really cloudy at the top, so hopefully next time I go I will be able to see the tops of the mountains too!  Mary and I are thinking of going on Sunday.  I hope we do!


God is peeping through!!! yikes!


 Now when I said it was muddy, I was serious.  I was covered all over my legs and it looked like I had sock tan when I took my shoes off!!  I also fell, twice, and so my butt and back pack were super muddy too.  Oh stubborn Anna.


...and the saga begins. (Heather will understand)

Tuesday, December 20, 2011

Say a little prayer for you

When Thundertron was happy
Thundertron was dead this morning :(  The orange sunny, named Beyheim after some Syracuse football guy killed him!!!! MURDER!  Mary and I had to take him out of the fish tank and send him to his next life in the dumpster out front.

Say a little prayer for him!

 On the way to the airport yesterday to drop off Jak for her flight to Florida
 Look at that super cute baby with glasses!  Yes, I snuck in a picture, but how could you not sneak one in!!!!  ahhhhhhhh She's so adorable!
Mary with her babies yesterday
Mary today with her new haircut from me!!

Monday, December 19, 2011

Transitions

I woke up feeling sick today, but I finally managed to clean all of the dirty dishes, its now 4:30....







Mary and I decided to post pone our paleo challenge until the 1st of January.  Really, it's Nate's fault because he bought us a whole bunch of beers and donuts and said "you can eat this on your diet right?"  Well, it worked out well for me, because now I can drink at the Christmas party at my bar.  This also means we will be taking new before and after photos.  Two more weeks before that happens luckily.  I went out swimming with some new friends last night in the ocean.  It was dark, scary, and awesome. It reminded me so much of Australia when I did that with Katina one of our last few nights there.  Australia had way more lights near the ocean than they do here.  And there was less of a homeless people issue out there.
It was really fun.  I was running away from this guy Eric on the sand along the waves. I heard him quickly approaching, so I veered to the right, which apparently he did at the same time and he pummeled me into the sand. It was hilarious.  It seemed like how those football players run right into each other and just knock one another into the ground.  He felt so bad and didn't understand how I could be laughing (little does he know how strong I am or how I'm little miss independent).  I got up and shoulder checked him into the water.  Totally solved the problem :)  It was awesome, other than the wind.  The water was warmer than the air, and the stars were shining bright.  I still have all of my ligaments also, no shark bites yet!!!

Sunday, December 18, 2011

You are gonna get your ass beat, you dumb white kid!

I never really think about race, until you are presented with a situation that contains it.  Its nice to be here with the time difference because if someone needs someone to talk to super late at night, they know they can call me because its still earlier here.  On the other hand, when I really need someone to talk to, and Mary is already sleeping, I am stuck.  The only person I could call that I know would be awake now is my mom...  and I am not sure its a good idea yet to call her.(yes, she is awake at 5 a.m. or earlier that crazy awesome lady who takes advantage of all sunlight hours) But, being there for my friends is super important to me, and I am glad, even though JC is a "dumb white guy"  that Cassie and JC now have a reason to move closer to me.  I can't wait to have my own place in a safe neighborhood.  I was just walking outside, breathing in the clean air, and all I wanted was to go for a long walk in the street lights.  Sadly, you have to be worried about most bushes because there could be someone sleeping in them, or be worried about drunks walking home from the bars. Is anywhere really safe anymore?  Please leave a comment of a place that you believe to be safe, I would love to hear your responses.

Mary and I spent this past week gorging on all of the grains, gluten, chocolates, beers, wines, carbs, dairy, and legumes that we could get our hands on.  Starting today we are doing a 30 day paleo challenge.

We took before and after photos last night, and will be taking new photos every Friday.  My hope is that my complexion will get better, along with my energy.  I would like constant energy instead of random bursts.  I am not looking to lose weight.  Maybe my sides could slim down, but that is just because I have a muffin top phobia.  I wonder what that phobia is called.
Yoursidefatisspillingoveryourwaistbandphobia.  Say that 5 times fast.
If I actually stick to the diet, and don't sneak milk into my coffee, or snack on shitty food at work, I'll be able to find out if there is something that my body actually doesn't like, or I am possibly allergic too.  I remember when Cassie and I were younger, we were sitting at the island in her kitchen she was telling me all about the different foods she couldn't eat anymore.  I was devastated to learn she couldn't have dairy since I was living off of an ice cream diet while working at the Jolly Cow that summer.  But in a pretty short amount of time, from what I remember, her face cleared up and she was definitely happier.  I like when my Cassie is happy.  Hopefully this works the same for me!  two weeks with just paleo, and then starting in January Mary and I are joining Crossfit. I hope I get jacked!
Day 1 - My  legs look sweet!
p.s.  I barely made it through today without quitting........  We'll see how far I make it.  Please support me with words of wisdom, strength, and hope!  Also, mail me brownies!


Friday, December 16, 2011

Shit Hole Mother F*cker

That's what I said to the box of coconut water as I spilled it because I squeezed it too hard while trying to get the groceries out of the trunk.  I hate having my period. 

I watched the fish in the tank a lot today.  I couldn't go to the beach to play because my cramps sucked way to much :( 

But I just got called in to work at Bob's tonight.  Hilarious.  The owner said I wouldn't be working a night shift until I was comfortable in my day shift duties.  Well its a Friday, after one day shift, I'm probably going to get my ass handed to me tonight.  Its gonna be sweet.  Maybe I'll come home with big tips though.  Ooooo I know. Maybe I'll show off my big chest while I have it for a day or so more :)

Shit I forgot to post yesterday

Fish faces
We ran outside for the sunrise :)
Babysitting is going way better now.  Monday of this week, Zane gave me a ton of attitude and was super rude.  I talked to his dad about it, and by Wednesday things were better.  Yesterday when I showed up he was already dressed including his sneakers.  Woah, that's a big difference.  He even brushed his teeth and everything (which is usually a big struggle) without me asking.  Sweet.

the sun wasn't even up!

Zane is vacuuming the rug, cause Tyson, the funny looking and kinda moronic dog, decided to tear up a Christmas present that came in the mail for them on Wednesday.  What a jerk!  And no, I did not help









So bartending a little crazy.  Allow me to explain.  I've never actually been behind a bar before when it wasn't already set up.  I got to work early yesterday, but the owner, and person who was supposed to train me didn't get there until 11, or the time that the bar is supposed to open! I sat out back and waited in the nice morning sun til he came.  He told me to go set up and that he would come up front soon. ok....  I went to check it out and there were mats everywhere.  Nothing was even close to where it should be, and I was clueless and quite overwhelmed.  I went in the back and was like, "ummmmmm I'm overwhelmed, I don't know where anything goes" He came to the front to help me, and it turned out, he didn't really know either. Now the reason for him training me and not someone else was because he didn't want me to pick up any bad habits from anyone else.  Well I didn't pick too much up from him either.  While I was winging it, and not really knowing what was going on and really needed his help, he was staring at the juke box picking out music....  I had a customer come in pretty early, and I didn't even know how to use the cash register!  You would think that would be an important part of training.  Luckily it was pretty slow for the first while.  But then it started to really pick up at 2.  It was Thursday afternoon football, so there were a lot of rowdy guys who thought it was HILARIOUS that I love math, that my name is Anna Banana, and that I'm from NY.  It worked out for my benefit though.  Oh, and by the way I had no idea how much stuff costs.  I was kinda making it up.  Like I also don't know how much wine goes in a wine glass.... I was just winging it.  Everyone there was really funny though.  Something that may make this story more realistic is that I was at the bar alone from 12 - 4 maybe even 5.  Shit, I was laughing at myself so hard.  I only cried once from being overwhelmed.  I made it through though, only a few mistakes and drinks poured down the drain.
I was told that people only ever order beer.  Its a beer bar, you have nothing to worry about!  No.  Mad rum and cokes with specialty rum, that I knew was supposed to charge something different then normal.... oops.  Other mixed drinks that I didn't know I what I was doing... Sorta.  Wine, Wine!!!  ugh.  shots of patron, crown royal.  patron was chilled and the guys loved watching me pour it into the glasses after they convinced me to shake it, even though that's not even necessary.  And crown royal on the rocks, and the guy complained hard core about how much was in the glass.  wowza.

One more thing. When you are a new hire, you get to train for a day or two, for a few hours both times, without doing any actual work.  Yeah, I had none of that.  Such as goes my crazy life story.

I have no pictures because I was running around all day, but I was told I did really well, so that was nice.  The other day shift bartender says she makes 60 on a good day in tips, and 10 on a bad day.  I made 86!  I'll be eating good food this weekend!!!! :)