Breathe Deep and Live Free

Breathe Deep and Live Free
Breathe Deep and Live Free

Sunday, December 18, 2011

You are gonna get your ass beat, you dumb white kid!

I never really think about race, until you are presented with a situation that contains it.  Its nice to be here with the time difference because if someone needs someone to talk to super late at night, they know they can call me because its still earlier here.  On the other hand, when I really need someone to talk to, and Mary is already sleeping, I am stuck.  The only person I could call that I know would be awake now is my mom...  and I am not sure its a good idea yet to call her.(yes, she is awake at 5 a.m. or earlier that crazy awesome lady who takes advantage of all sunlight hours) But, being there for my friends is super important to me, and I am glad, even though JC is a "dumb white guy"  that Cassie and JC now have a reason to move closer to me.  I can't wait to have my own place in a safe neighborhood.  I was just walking outside, breathing in the clean air, and all I wanted was to go for a long walk in the street lights.  Sadly, you have to be worried about most bushes because there could be someone sleeping in them, or be worried about drunks walking home from the bars. Is anywhere really safe anymore?  Please leave a comment of a place that you believe to be safe, I would love to hear your responses.

Mary and I spent this past week gorging on all of the grains, gluten, chocolates, beers, wines, carbs, dairy, and legumes that we could get our hands on.  Starting today we are doing a 30 day paleo challenge.

We took before and after photos last night, and will be taking new photos every Friday.  My hope is that my complexion will get better, along with my energy.  I would like constant energy instead of random bursts.  I am not looking to lose weight.  Maybe my sides could slim down, but that is just because I have a muffin top phobia.  I wonder what that phobia is called.
Yoursidefatisspillingoveryourwaistbandphobia.  Say that 5 times fast.
If I actually stick to the diet, and don't sneak milk into my coffee, or snack on shitty food at work, I'll be able to find out if there is something that my body actually doesn't like, or I am possibly allergic too.  I remember when Cassie and I were younger, we were sitting at the island in her kitchen she was telling me all about the different foods she couldn't eat anymore.  I was devastated to learn she couldn't have dairy since I was living off of an ice cream diet while working at the Jolly Cow that summer.  But in a pretty short amount of time, from what I remember, her face cleared up and she was definitely happier.  I like when my Cassie is happy.  Hopefully this works the same for me!  two weeks with just paleo, and then starting in January Mary and I are joining Crossfit. I hope I get jacked!
Day 1 - My  legs look sweet!
p.s.  I barely made it through today without quitting........  We'll see how far I make it.  Please support me with words of wisdom, strength, and hope!  Also, mail me brownies!


1 comment:

Unknown said...

Quitting? Please. Day 2 is here, and I've got bacon.