Breathe Deep and Live Free
Breathe Deep and Live Free
Tuesday, February 28, 2012
Shananigans on the Marine Corps Base
Last night was one of the funniest nights I've had here. There are only five guys left in the whole barracks because the rest recently deployed. These five guys sure caused a ruckus last night because there was no one on duty to reprimand them either. All sorts of things were moved, stolen, or broken. Along with all the craziness they were also yelling how much they hate being in te Marines. They went to smoke in one of the rooms and a few minutes later I went and found the room (which was easy cause they were being so loud) and banged on the door like I was some one important. All you hear is Oh Shit! I banged again and then opened the door to Inch climbing out the window and 3 other guys hiding in the closet and the bathroom.
Monday, February 27, 2012
Swamp Romp 2012
So the swamp romp is basically a 5 mile obstacle run through the "swamps" of the marine corps base in Kaneohe Bay. Sounds fun right? When in reality its nasty! Some of the mud that you are running through you are almost positive it has come out of sewage drains... Your legs get stuck in the mud because it is so deep in places, and in other places the water is so deep you can literally go under, which is what a lot of people do (mostly guys). They dive right into this nasty nasty stuff... I tried to keep my head out of it to spare my hair, and also spare my cape. I knew it was going to get heavy! And, sadly by the end it was totally soaked, smelly, and super heavy. I continued to randomly run and allow it to catch the wind so it would billow up. I wanted to look really cool, which is easy for me obviously :) I was one of the only people with a cape on, which instantly makes me badass, out of over 1000 participants! I would climb to the top of obstacle and jump off with my cape flying behind me. That's just what you do as a super squatch!
Yup, Mary and Keysa made us all t-shirts.

At the end of the race they have basically fire hoses to spray everyone down. My shoes and socks went right into the dumpster. We're saving my cape for the Warrior Dash in March though :)

Our before and after shots :)
It took about 5 good scrubbings and shampoos to get the stench out of my skin and hair, but boy oh boy was it worth it!!!!!
Yup, Mary and Keysa made us all t-shirts.

At the end of the race they have basically fire hoses to spray everyone down. My shoes and socks went right into the dumpster. We're saving my cape for the Warrior Dash in March though :)

Our before and after shots :)
Friday, February 24, 2012
Kelly Ripa
You know, I watch her almost everyday, and today she just sucked. I'm really upset about this! OK, off to CrossFit!
Wednesday, February 22, 2012
Workin on my fitness
So this Monday, after 2 hours of sleep Saturday night and then an early morning CrossFitish Supplemental run by me, and 1 1/2 hours of sleep Sunday night(yay for bartending the night shift!), Mary and I ran the Great Aloha Run. We (literally) passed thousands of people on our run. No joke. In a race of 40 thousand people, Mary and I came in 9 thousand something! Means we beat 30 thousand people!!!! super sweet. We ran the 8 miles in style as we zoomed past walkers and made sound effects as we sprinted in between people. It was fun running on a highway, you'll never get to do that any other time. It only took us an our forty something, which was awesome considering there were times when we were forced to walk because there was just so many people. Great time spent with my sister. And an amazing nap when I got home afterwards :)Tuesday, February 21, 2012
Sunday, February 19, 2012
Thursday, February 16, 2012
Blogging about Blogging
A week has gone by and I haven't even noticed that I haven't written. I think about it sometimes, but I just "don't have the time" or "don't have access to my computer". Truth is I haven't really been around. All of my free time outside of babysitting Zane and working at the bar has been spent with Eric. I'm glad on Saturday I told him I needed a break and uninvited him from the hike I went on with Mary and friends. One because it was all girls, and two because honestly I don't need to do everything with him. I forget how used to I am being independent and kind of just living life on my own. Its so easy to fall into being with someone all the time and letting them take care of you, or planning EVERYTHING around the both of you. Its even worse when I remember how important it is that I have alone time. I seriously cannot not have alone time. But how do you explain that to someone who doesn't need that? Especially when you say, I need alone time, and they are so freakin nice and cute about it that you forget you need alone time and just cuddle up to them instead. I want things to work out, and last a long long time, but how do you know that is what you really want so soon? Things zoom past you and you over look others, only to find out a long time from now that those things really bother you and you want to curl up into a corner and cry or pull out all of your hair. I don't want to end up like that. Unhappy. I'm almost scared of it, and would rather run away now then enjoy the good times that are still yet to be had.
I've been like miserable lately, and that is not because of any one thing. The biggest reason is the bar I work at. I love being behind a bar. I think its hilarious, and I have a good time doing it. The hours that I work blow, and I am missing most sunlight hours and working for a total prick. But the worst part is that a lot of the time I am there alone. This is not a new thing for me or people that know me, I do not like to be alone for extended amounts of time. This results in over-thinking and over-criticizing, which results in me being a failure, loser, and undeserving. This leads to me being unhappy and realizing that I did not move to Hawaii to be at a bar, by myself, in the middle of the day, and not even be drinking. No joke, I have been there for 5 hours, totally alone. Boss, cook, nobody. I am sticking it out because I want a good reference when I move to my next place, and am looking for a bartending job. If I quit I wont get that. But I don't think I will last there more than another week on the day shift. The schedule is not up past today, so I am hoping that they put me on the night shift next week, if not, I will be telling them that this is my last week. Oh well. I have some money saved up, so its not like I would be totally broke, which I am good at being broke anyway. Luckily to live here my requirements are to wash the dishes and help out with groceries. Best deal I have ever seen. But also it gives me incentive to pass on the love, because one day I will have a friend or sibling in need of free housing, and mine will be ready for the taking.
Its funny, after I type about all of this stuff I don't feel so unhappy anymore. I'm sitting here with a big smile on my face thinking about this weekend and next Monday and Tuesday. Eric and I have big plans for Monday night and Tuesday because he has off of work and we want to create something fun for Valentines Day that we missed this past Tuesday. That day is overrated anyway and totally stresses me out! Mary reminded me this morning, that even if I do quit Bob's I have much better things to be doing, like sitting at the beach all day catching some sun. Agreed. I should be enjoying those things more before I move to a place that doesn't have any ocean.
This past weekend on Saturday we hiked into the Ka'au Crater. It was awesome. There were like 2000000000000 waterfalls, and we climbed up 7 of them til we got to the top and could see the whole valley. IT was my absolute favorite hike so far, but I didn't bring my camera. I will be doing it again for sure when Kevin comes in March, and I will bring my really good camera :)
You can't tell how far I am off the ground in this picture, but I muscled myself up this very skinny and awkward tree to get some of the most deliciously ripe Strawberry Guavas I have ever tasted. They were well worth the climb, and very delicious in my tummy. There are more pictures of our ridiculousness on facebook, I don't have many pictures because I was using my itouch :(
On Sunday Eric and I went up to the North Shore on his Ducati along the Kamehameha highway. It was a long ride with big spurts of rain, but very fun. We stopped for a second to rest, and at that very moment Sara called me, and his mom called him. Perfect timing for the both of us. We had lunch in Haliewa at a restaurant called Breakers which was delicious, and then went to lie on the beach in Waianae. It was cold and rainy and cloudy, but we still went in the water to play in the perfectly sized waves. The only problem was the pretty uncomfortable ride back on the bike, but our day all together was well worth it. A hot shower has never felt so good!
This week I worked on Monday and Tuesday (which is extra) because the other day bartender got married on Valentines Day. Which is brilliant by the way gentlemen because now you only have to remember one date instead of two, and spend less money on one gift instead of multiple. Genius! The only thing that would be better is if her birthday was Feb 14th, because then you would never get in trouble. Unless you forgot all three, and then I would have to slap you over the head myself. I have no idea what my schedule looks like after babysitting tomorrow morning, but hopefully I have a day this weekend to go out and play in the sun with Mary. Its funny how much I freakin love the ocean, but I barely ever go. Something is wrong inside this noggin of mine. Maybe I will figure it out someday.
to be continued...
I've been like miserable lately, and that is not because of any one thing. The biggest reason is the bar I work at. I love being behind a bar. I think its hilarious, and I have a good time doing it. The hours that I work blow, and I am missing most sunlight hours and working for a total prick. But the worst part is that a lot of the time I am there alone. This is not a new thing for me or people that know me, I do not like to be alone for extended amounts of time. This results in over-thinking and over-criticizing, which results in me being a failure, loser, and undeserving. This leads to me being unhappy and realizing that I did not move to Hawaii to be at a bar, by myself, in the middle of the day, and not even be drinking. No joke, I have been there for 5 hours, totally alone. Boss, cook, nobody. I am sticking it out because I want a good reference when I move to my next place, and am looking for a bartending job. If I quit I wont get that. But I don't think I will last there more than another week on the day shift. The schedule is not up past today, so I am hoping that they put me on the night shift next week, if not, I will be telling them that this is my last week. Oh well. I have some money saved up, so its not like I would be totally broke, which I am good at being broke anyway. Luckily to live here my requirements are to wash the dishes and help out with groceries. Best deal I have ever seen. But also it gives me incentive to pass on the love, because one day I will have a friend or sibling in need of free housing, and mine will be ready for the taking.
Its funny, after I type about all of this stuff I don't feel so unhappy anymore. I'm sitting here with a big smile on my face thinking about this weekend and next Monday and Tuesday. Eric and I have big plans for Monday night and Tuesday because he has off of work and we want to create something fun for Valentines Day that we missed this past Tuesday. That day is overrated anyway and totally stresses me out! Mary reminded me this morning, that even if I do quit Bob's I have much better things to be doing, like sitting at the beach all day catching some sun. Agreed. I should be enjoying those things more before I move to a place that doesn't have any ocean.
This past weekend on Saturday we hiked into the Ka'au Crater. It was awesome. There were like 2000000000000 waterfalls, and we climbed up 7 of them til we got to the top and could see the whole valley. IT was my absolute favorite hike so far, but I didn't bring my camera. I will be doing it again for sure when Kevin comes in March, and I will bring my really good camera :)
You can't tell how far I am off the ground in this picture, but I muscled myself up this very skinny and awkward tree to get some of the most deliciously ripe Strawberry Guavas I have ever tasted. They were well worth the climb, and very delicious in my tummy. There are more pictures of our ridiculousness on facebook, I don't have many pictures because I was using my itouch :(
On Sunday Eric and I went up to the North Shore on his Ducati along the Kamehameha highway. It was a long ride with big spurts of rain, but very fun. We stopped for a second to rest, and at that very moment Sara called me, and his mom called him. Perfect timing for the both of us. We had lunch in Haliewa at a restaurant called Breakers which was delicious, and then went to lie on the beach in Waianae. It was cold and rainy and cloudy, but we still went in the water to play in the perfectly sized waves. The only problem was the pretty uncomfortable ride back on the bike, but our day all together was well worth it. A hot shower has never felt so good!
This week I worked on Monday and Tuesday (which is extra) because the other day bartender got married on Valentines Day. Which is brilliant by the way gentlemen because now you only have to remember one date instead of two, and spend less money on one gift instead of multiple. Genius! The only thing that would be better is if her birthday was Feb 14th, because then you would never get in trouble. Unless you forgot all three, and then I would have to slap you over the head myself. I have no idea what my schedule looks like after babysitting tomorrow morning, but hopefully I have a day this weekend to go out and play in the sun with Mary. Its funny how much I freakin love the ocean, but I barely ever go. Something is wrong inside this noggin of mine. Maybe I will figure it out someday.
to be continued...
Wednesday, February 8, 2012
Predictions for the future
![]() |
| Caught you! |

Zane had two weeks to do his report, and didn't start it til we had to leave at 7:15 am. I see this as a window into his future. Even as a second grader.
Prior to me checking his back pack the morning was great. We brought Tyson for a walk and everything.
I'm headed to crossFit at 9 am and then to H and R block to get my taxes did. Later I have to pick up Zane from school. Should be a fun day.
Life the long way
I'm happy to say that I'm at a time in my life where I honestly want time to go slower. I'm finally becoming a half ass bartender so I can feel happier about going to work. My boss(who happens to be one of the biggest tools I've ever met) is constantly degrading me and making me feel like shit at the bar. But this other chick always calls in sick so I've been working a lot of her shifts and now I might get put on the schedule for the night shift which means i won't have to deal with my boss nearly ever. That will be awesome.
Also I've somehow managed to get myself in a situation where I want the whole world to slow down. I love where I am right now and who I've been spending all my time with. Today i didn't get out of bed until after 1. It didn't help that I worked for 15 straight hours at the bar yesterday. Today was my first full day off in 2 weeks, so I took full advantage of it. It's 9 at night right now and I'm already tucked in bed super comfortable. I wish time would stop right now. I love where I am and maybe the most happy I have been in a really long time. It's strange going from being pretty sad last week and almost depressed to now being the happiest I have felt deep down in my chest in a long time. It's funny how things work out. Or maybe how things are planned. I just like where they are and hope they stay here.
Also I've somehow managed to get myself in a situation where I want the whole world to slow down. I love where I am right now and who I've been spending all my time with. Today i didn't get out of bed until after 1. It didn't help that I worked for 15 straight hours at the bar yesterday. Today was my first full day off in 2 weeks, so I took full advantage of it. It's 9 at night right now and I'm already tucked in bed super comfortable. I wish time would stop right now. I love where I am and maybe the most happy I have been in a really long time. It's strange going from being pretty sad last week and almost depressed to now being the happiest I have felt deep down in my chest in a long time. It's funny how things work out. Or maybe how things are planned. I just like where they are and hope they stay here.
Thursday, February 2, 2012
Be not afraid of Greatness
This is the new cover photo for my timeline on facebook. I saw this spray painted on the top of the second bunker at the pillboxes and it instantly caught my attention. What is it about this saying that I love so much? I don't consider myself to be great and almighty so everyone should be afraid of me. I think it is more of an awareness that should be present at all times. You never really know what you are capable of. Achieving greater things that you had ever really imagined. I still can't believe that I made it out of New York. I feel like I escaped a lot of things that were lingering around me back there. Its true that I wish I could have brought a few things with me, but its nice to be free of other things. I miss my friends. Its cool talking to them on the phone, or writing postcards or to them online, but its not the same.
I haven't written because I have been busy for one, and two a lot of the stuff that I want to write about is becoming more personal than I was prepared to be sharing with someone that is reading a link that I post on facebook. But I need to stop being so lazy. I read an awesome post by a friend who likes to blog, and is crazy obsessed with crossfit and eating healthy. She was basically yelling about how we need to shape up and actually do the things that we want to do. Don't be lazy about working out. If you want to get in shape, or just feel healthier and happier than just freakin do it. Stop putting it off and waiting for something to happen to you. You need to make it happen. If you aren't happy where you are right now, whether its where you live, who you are with, or the job that you're in, then fix it. Start working on applying for new jobs. Search for a new place to live. Start somewhere. Please just don't complain about it. It is so important to be happy. Depression is something that my family struggles with. I see it in my genetics and it is definitely something that I am scared of. Sometimes I am just so sad. There is no reason either. I don't have my period, I am not just being "moody", and I am not just being a big complainer. I am just sad. Of course there are things that cheer me up, and I am also good at hiding it. But I know its in there and I have to fix it.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)













