Breathe Deep and Live Free

Breathe Deep and Live Free
Breathe Deep and Live Free

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

*The Mile High City*

I am now a part of Denver and therefore a part of this mile high city.  Aside from learning what it really was that was making me so upset last week, I have accomplished a great deal since I have gotten here.  I am now the newest server at Hapa Sushi in Greenwood Village. Its a sushi bar, and is very nice, modern, and sophisticated. Its right near the Denver Tech Center, so my guess is there should be some people who actually are making some money coming in to tip me! Its also right next to an Irish Pub. Perfect.  This will be a new a fun experience, and hopefully I get to eat lots of good sushi all summer! That's the big hope, save money on food :)

The best thing that has happened to me so far is going up to the roof of Sam's apartment.  Sam and Chelsea have been letting me stay on their couch for the last week, and I have loved every second of it.  It is so nice to be able to hang out with Sam all the time again, its like we haven't missed a beat. We've already gone on 2 runs this week, and she is even pushing me! Its amazing. Monday we went onto the roof of her apartment after our run, and did a mini crossfit workout.  Push ups, squats, and jump rope; all while looking out to the mountains which were beaming because the sun was almost completely down.  Chelsea is right, she and I are quickly also becoming two very good friends, she even said she is going to be super sad when I leave!

Back to the roof.  Oh my gosh its amazing. Romantic dinner amazing. Dance party amazing. Star gazing amazing.  The first time I went up there was last Wednesday after my semi major break down.  Sammy and I just sat up there, talked it out, and looked out into a much bigger world than just the two of us.  Its so important to remember that there is so much else out there, you are just one small piece in the equation.

We also went up there to watch the eclipse.  Watching three good friends and a small baby smile away while dancing to MGMT really made a lasting impression.  Chelsea yelled out over the other apartments "I love this!!!" and its right.  Look where we are in the world, its priceless.

I'm trying my best to keep my things out of the way, and work on not hurting other peoples feelings.  What is up with feelings? And emotions?  It seems like people don't so much mind anymore about other people and just think a lot more about themselves.  A lot more about what will make things more convenient for them, or so they can have a better time.

For example, text messages. Now I remember the exact moment in the car on John Carl Road when my brother Andrew told me 'He will never get into the texting phenomena'. "I just dont get it" he said, "Why is it so hard to just pick up the phone and call someone.  If I want to talk to them, I would just call." He retracts that statement now that he sees how important and vital texting is in the 21st century, but still, why is calling so hard? Or just taking the 5.6 seconds that it takes to send a text message? (that is an average calculation, but I timed a bunch of my messages and this was the mean time). Its so hard when you are waiting for someone to call you back, about information for a party, directions, or plans for the evening, and you just hear nothing.  Or maybe you want to say good night to a certain someone, so you shoot them a text, and even still in the morning there is still no response.  I don't get it, it only takes a few seconds to make someone else feel better and more secure. Enough about my own personal problems. the root of the equation is coming.

Last night I was sent a text that an excellent girl friend needed girl advice.  I jumped on the phone and called her ass back. He told her to text while he was away on a business trip, so she did, and 4 days later still no response.  4 DAYS! Geez and I'm worried about 1 day.  I told her to punch him, but that didn't seem like the best solution. What does this mean, this no response method? His phone broke? He really doesn't have time? (cough bull shit) He is taking the easy way out and not talking to her in hopes that she'll go away? (grow some balls dude!) What the heck? It takes two seconds to text!  I like how she put it though, "I am needy and I know that, and I am very up front about it" Damn, good point. Girls are needy. Most anyway. Sometimes you just need a freakin text! "Hey I'm real busy today, but that doesn't mean I'm not thinking about you.  Have a great day and I'll call you when I get the chance"  I've sent messages like that. wow 7 seconds to type that. I'm messing with my average here.

Anyway.  This mile high city is amazing and has amazing people in it.  I have already added to my list of excellent friends.  New girl friends that will stay with me for a life time.  There are more adventures to come, and less stress to follow.

1 comment:

Unknown said...

By the way, I'm just telling you to enjoy life. Not misinterpreting anything.